Flemish Christian Democrat Herman Van Rompuy was appointed prime minister of Belgium by King Albert II, on 30 December 2008, following the resignation of Yves Leterme, who was accused of putting pressure on the courts in the Fortis bank case. The new government is based on the same coalition as the previous team: Christian Democrats and Liberals on the Flemish side, and French-speaking Christian Democrats, Liberals and Socialists from Brussels and the southern Wallonia region. However, there are three changes: the departing Home Affairs Minister, Flemish Liberal Patrick Dewael, replaces Van Rompuy as speaker...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT