PositionBrief article

Better late - nearly two years late - than never: all of the EU telecoms rules are now being applied by the 27 member states. Accordingly, the European Commission plans to withdraw, on 20 February, the last infringement proceedings against five member states for failure to respect the implementation deadline of the telecoms package adopted in 2009.

On 31 May 2012, the EU executive asked the EU Court of Justice (ECJ) to fine Belgium, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal and Slovenia for failure to respect the deadline to enact into national law this package, which includes Directives 2009/140/EC and 2009/136/EC, modifying five directives(1), as well as a regulation establishing the Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC, No 1211/2009). The deadline was set for 25 May 2011. These five member states have since enacted the package and the Commission therefore plans to withdraw the infringement proceedings on 20 February.

The telecoms package is now being applied across the EU. Broadly speaking, it contains...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT